last post

Years ago – in fact at the beginning of the twenty-first century or the end of the twentieth, depending on the way you count, I started blogging – or journalling.  Back in September 2007 I noted:

Midnight tonight

24SEP

That’s when my download allowance is renewed and I can resume my ranting. Meantime, I notice I promised to reflect on blogging but instead have given you yet another blog! In fact it is my old Blogspot number revived with a niche purpose that would be swamped here, yet does not quite belong on English/ESL either.

And those promised reflections? Well, just this: a blog is what it will be. Mine is a 21st century commonplace book, no more and no less. No other purpose. Just a voice, a collection, a series of letters to whom they may concern. What more do you want?

Overnight Sitemeter visitor #140,000 arrived here from Columbus, Mississippi. That is, the 140,000th visit since Sitemeter started counting on one of my earlier Floating Life manifestations, back in July 2001. The next milestone to note is coming up soon: #95,000 to this blog in particular — WordPress count.

Mine is a 21st century commonplace book, no more and no less. No other purpose. Just a voice, a collection, a series of letters to whom they may concern. What more do you want? I have started a new blog because I want to recapture that simple purpose.

6a00d83451584369e200e54f0f5e0d8833-800wi

Commonplace Book – image linked to source

Sitemeter now registers 700,000+ visits, almost three quarters of a million in fact!

My former main blog has these stats:

Content: 1,575 Posts 7 Pages 105 Categories 33 Tags

Discussion: 2,149 Comments

The Photo Blog:

Content:  2,262 Posts 17 Pages 63 Categories 12 Tags

Discussion: 864 Comments

images: 4,576

So I have decided on a fresh start — not the first time, as regular followers will know. But there is a reason. I wanted to cut loose from the “obligation” of City Daily Photo, and I wanted to not even pretend to have anything much of note to say.

This blog will be much less ambitious. It really will be a commonplace book. For example, many future entries will draw on the treasury of my eBook library simply via quotes and minimal contextual commentary. There will be reviews, again quite minimal, of things I read or see in other ways. Or hear. The massive music library that came to me via G through M and Baby HP will no doubt lead to an entry or three!  My blog will really be to give me pleasure, not to change the world.

Right now I am catching up on reading, thanks to Wollongong Library, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

Picture0075

It really is as good as everyone has said! Smile

And here at the moment – or this morning:

P2050328

That’s how Mount Keira looked as I walked home from the Yum Yum Cafe. Not too bad, eh!